We follow the same syllabus as the majority of goju ryu clubs. See Gradings for more about what you will need to do to achieve each grade.

Below is a list of the 12 katas of Goju ryu with their associated grades.

Gekisai dai ichi (Attack & Destroy I) 8th kyu

Geki means to attack and Sai means to destroy. Dai Ichi means number one.

This is the first kata to be taught and uses basic stances, punches and blocks.

Gekisai dai ni (Attack & Destroy II) 7th kyu

Dai Ni means number two.

It follows a similar pattern to that of Gekisai Dai Ichi but involves the use of open-handed and circular techniques.

Sanchin (Three Battles) 6th kyu

San means three and chin means battle. The battle of mind, body and spirit.

We teach Chojun Miyagi’s version of Sanchin where the karateka goes first forward and then backwards without turning.

Saifa (Destroy & defeat) 5th kyu

Sai means destroy and Fa means defeat.

The first advanced Goju ryu kata. It involves moving off the line of attack and incorporates a lot of whipping movements and sophisticated defences using body weight.

Seiyunchin (To Control and Pull in Battle) 3rd kyu

Sei means to control Yun means to pull, and Chin means to do battle.

Seiyunchin involves the use of techniques to unbalance, throw and grapple with your opponent. It contains close-quarter striking, sweeps, take-downs and throws.

Shisochin (Battle in Four Directions) 1st kyu

Shi means four, So means direction and Chin means battle.

Shisochin integrates powerful linear attacks and circular movements and blocks.

Tensho (Rotating Palms) 1st dan

Ten means turning and Sho means palm.

Tensho is the “softer” version of Sanchin. It is a combination of dynamic tension with deep breathing and rotating hand movements.

Sanseru (36 Hands) 2nd dan

San mean three, Sei means ten, and Ru means six.

Sanseru teaches how to move around the opponent in close quarters fights and emphasizes the destruction of the opponent’s mobility.

Seipai (18 Hands) 3rd dan

Sei means ten and Pai means eight.

Seipai incorporates both the four directional movements and 45 degree angular attacks incorporating techniques for both long distance and close quarter combat.

Kururunfa (Holding on for a long time and suddenly defeating) 4th dan

Ku means a long time, Ru means keep in place or stop from moving, Run means suddenly and Fa means defeat.

This kata techniques are based on Chinese Praying Mantis style.

Seisan (13 Hands) 5th dan

Sei means ten and San means three.

Seisan is thought to be one of the oldest katas and similar variants of the same kata are to be found in many other styles of karate.

Suparinpei (108 Hands) 6th dan

Su means one Pa means hundred Rin means zero and Pei means eight.

The most advanced Goju ryu kata.


Pages in this section: